Minh Duong

minhduongngocnhat

Minh Duong

Profession:

Freelance photographer and petite model

@minhduongngocnhat

Email address:

minhduongngocnhat@live.com

Melbourne Australia

About:

I’m 18 years old and currently living in Melbourne Australia. I was moving between 11 different countries from the age of 2 to 16 with my mom, until I decided to settle down by myself in Melbourne, Australia. Besides focusing on high school for the past two years, I’ve also been working on some creative platforms such as photography, illustrating, card designing due to Art playing a significant part in my life since I was tiny. Instagram has also been helping me to get recognised and that I can see my hard work being paid off more and more each day, as well as my childhood dream of becoming a full-time Art freelancer turning into more of a reality. I also manage my own blog on the side, but would not want to make money out of it as I pour my heart out in my writings and would only desire to write about stories that I keep close to my heart, rather than documenting and giving reviews on travelling and such (even though I absolutely love going). I’ve also just finished high school (Melbourne Girls’ College) and am visiting my hometown — Hanoi, Vietnam for three months. During my time here, I’m planning to open my jewellery brand where I would be designing the pieces and selecting the finest material as the idea for the first collection that I’ll be launching arose from many of my dearest memories. I would be more than happy to share more and go into more details if needed. Minh x

Your Story

I have absolutely no phobia nor completely frightened of any particular objects. However, Abandonment is my greatest fear. My mom used to work for the British Embassy and DFID which required her to travel very often. My sister and I were somewhat forced to move to Yangon, Burma with her in 2012 which was when I was 12 years old. She was extremely busy and barely had time for us. My Dad decided to leave and go back to Vietnam to work after a year of living in Burma with us. I had no choice but to step up and replace my mom’s job as a mother to make sure my sister would not feel the way I did, lonely and abandoned. Going through my teenage years, my friends had a choice between doing their homework or hanging out, I, on the other hand, had neither of those options. My daily routine as 14 years old would just be going to school, picking up my sister after school, do the house chores, make dinner then have dinner with no one but only my sister. The past two years living in Melbourne Australia has allowed me to dedicate all the time I have to no one but MYSELF. To re-live the moments I’ve missed out as a teenager and to distance myself from my mom so I can see a bigger picture and understand the reason why she had to do so. Of course, there were many more to the stories that I cannot jot them all down in this small text box. However, I do upload some blog posts on my website which is linked in my Instagram bio if you guys would like to have a read. I’m grateful for everything that happened as well as everyone that passed through my life, because with it all I wouldn’t be the person I am today. Minh x

Photo Credits:

I usually tag them in the photos